Electronic Waste

E-scrap or E-waste is not included in the City of Sumter’s regular weekly curbside program, but you are required by state law to recycle your Electronic Waste.

Sumter has drop-off sites on the first Saturday of each month at 1289 North Main Street from 8am–Noon. If you miss the first Saturday, E-waste may also be taken to the E-waste collection facility located at the Sumter County Landfill, Monday–Saturday from 7:30am–4:00pm. Take East Liberty Street in Sumter (from Main and Liberty Streets) and travel approximately 5 miles on US 76 East towards Mayesville and Florence. Turn right on Brewington Road and go approximately 1 mile. The Sumter County Landfill Entrance is on the Left. For more information, please call (803) 436-2241.


E-waste includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Computers (CPUs, monitors, mice, keyboards, printers, laptops, components)
  • Radios
  • Stereos
  • VCRs
  • TVs
  • PDAs
  • CDs and DVDs
  • Fax machines
  • Desk top copiers
  • Cameras
  • Microwave ovens
  • Handheld video game machines
  • Cell phones
  • Christmas tree lights 
Did You Know?

The Sumter County Public Works office accepts E-waste (Electronic Waste) on the first Saturday of each month at 1289 North Main Street from 8:00am to Noon and there are no fees. For more information call Sumter County Public Works at (803) 436-2241.