Office Locations

The City of Sumter has departments and offices throughout the city. For your convenience, a complete listing of our offices are below along with contact information for each office. If you need assistance with a particular department, please click here to fill out or Customer Service Form and someone from the appropriate department will contact you soon. Administrative office hours are Monday - Friday from 8:30am - 5pm EST. If you have an emergency, please dial 911.

The city-wide mailing address is:

City of Sumter 
P.O. Box 1449
Sumter, SC 29151

Email: [email protected]
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5pm EST


City Hall

21 N. Main Street
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 436-2500

Sumter Opera House

City Centre:

Public Safety Complex

Sumter Fire Department Headquarters
315 N. Lafayette Drive
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 436-2600 (911 for Emergency)

Sumter Police Department Headquarters
335 N. Lafayette Drive
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 436-2700 (911 for Emergency)


Utility Billing

130 S. Harvin Street
Sumter, SC 29150
(803) 436-2541

Liberty Center

12 W. Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 774-1600

Suite 1: Conference Room 1

Suite 2: Conference Room 2

Suite 3: Sumter Police Department

Suite 4: Community Development, Events & Recreation

Suite 5: n/a

Suite 6: SAFE Federal Credit Union

Suite 7: Codes Enforcement

Suite 8: City/County Business License

Suite 9: City/County Building, Planning & Zoning Department

Suite 10: Administrative Services


Public Services Complex

303 E. Liberty Street
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 436-2558 (24-hour answering service)

Areas of Responsibility: