Planning Commission

The Sumter City-County Planning Commission is a nine member commission appointed by the Sumter City and County Councils. This joint commission is tasked to be a recommending body to the two councils for rezoning including Planned Development, Ordinance Amendments, and Comprehensive Plan changes. Additionally, they oversee and hear subdivision questions and approvals.

The Planning Commission generally meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 3 p.m. in Council Chambers on the fourth floor of the Opera House at 21 N. Main Street. The Subdivision / Planned Development Review Committee meets 15 days prior to the Planning Commission meeting to provide a technical recommendation to the Planning Commission.

Agendas, Minutes, & Staff Reports
Meeting Datesort ascending Agenda File Minutes File
Planning Commission June 2020 Wed, 06/24/2020 PDF icon Agenda (156.18 KB) PDF icon Minutes (127.83 KB)
Planning Commission February 2020 Wed, 02/26/2020 PDF icon Agenda (157.25 KB)
Planning Commission January 2020 Wed, 01/22/2020 PDF icon Agenda (77.05 KB) PDF icon Minutes (158.53 KB)
Planning Commission October 2019 Wed, 10/23/2019 PDF icon Agenda (89.45 KB)


Contact Info

PO Box 1449
Sumter, SC 29151
Phone: (803) 774-1660
Fax: (803) 774-1687

Staff Contact:
Kellie Chapman
Board Secretary
(803) 774-1637

Term: 4 years
Tenure: 2 terms

Meeting Date:
4th Wednesday of the Month

Planning Department Meeting Schedule for 2022