SUATS Plans and Programs are approved by the Policy Committee, which receives technical input from the organization’s Technical Committee, or “Study Team”.  All Policy Committee Meetings take place at 12:00 PM in the Sumter City Council Chambers located on the 4th Floor of the Sumter Opera House (21 N. Main St., Sumter, SC), and are open to the public.


Policy Committee
The SUATS Policy Committee is the decision-making body of the Sumter Area Transportation Study and is primarily comprised of elected officials representing municipal, county and state governing bodies within the study area.

List of Committee Members (PDF)
SUATS Bylaws (revised June 21, 2024) (PDF)


Technical Committee (Study Team)
The Technical Committee is responsible for advising staff on preparation of the Long-Range Transportation Plan, the Transportation Improvement Program, and the Unified Planning Work Program.  This committee is comprised of transportation subject-matter experts and stakeholders.

List of Committee Members (PDF)