Water and Sewer Distribution

This division has 10 crews, ranging in size from 1 employee to 5 employees, with 28 employees.  This department is responsible for the maintenance of the water and sewer distribution systems for the City of Sumter, the Town of Mayesville, and Wessex Subdivision near Wedgefield. 


We also maintain the water distribution systems for the Oswego Rural Water Company and the Dalzell Water Company. These do not belong to the City of Sumter and are maintained under a maintenance agreement. 


The City of Sumter Public Services maintains approximately 340 miles of sewer system piping (serving 16,456 customers) and 633 miles of water mains (serving 27,971 customers).


*To report an issue with water or sewage after hours, please call (803) 436-2558.