Sumter's two public school districts merged into one the Summer of 2011 and have long embraced a tradition of excellence.

Sumter School District has 29 schools serving approximately 20,000 students in grades PK-12 each year. The former District 2 has recieved a number of national and state awards and was one of only 19 districts nationwide to recieve a Technology Innovation Challenge Grant from the U.S. Department of Education.  Three of the former District 17 schools have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence, and 11 are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the S.C. Department of Education.

uscsIn addition to its fine public schools, Sumter also offers acclaimed private schools including Wilson Hall, Thomas Sumter Academy and several others. Church-affiliated schools include St. Anne's School, which serves elementary students, St. Francis Xavier, for high school students, Sumter Christian School and Westside Christian Academy.


For adults seeking further education, Sumter offers abundant continuing education opportunities. University of South Carolina Sumter is a two-year college that has been part of the community since 1966. Presently in the process of expanding to a four-year university, it offers a wide range of courses of study.


cctcCentral Carolina Technical College provides quality, affordable post-secondary education and lifelong learning opportunities. In addition to its degree programs, CCTC offers continuing education programs that include an interesting selection, among them are arts and crafts, auto repair for women, golf, business courses and over a dozens more.

Morris College, a four-year accredited college, and Troy State University, which offers degrees on the master's level, round out Sumter's educational institutions.


Other higher education opportunities include satellite campuses of Troy University Graduate School, St. Leo University, Webster University and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.