City Council

 

Sumter's City Council is composed of seven members and is governed under the Council-Manager form of government. Six council members are elected from six separate wards and the Mayor is elected at-large. Sumter has the distinction of being the first to adopt the Council-Manager form of government, on June 11, 1912.

 

The Council Chambers are located on the 4th floor located in the historic Sumter Opera House at 21 N. Main Street, Sumter. For more information contact (803) 436-2581.

 

City of Sumter Ordinances

 

City Clerk Linda Hammett        

(803) 436-2578

 

 

City Voting Wards Map

Shaw AFB Voting Wards Map

 

lowery

 

WARD 1

Thomas J. Lowery

829 Legare Street

Sumter, SC 29150 

803-773-9298

tlowery@sumter-sc.com

dwyer

 

WARD 2

Ione J. Dwyer

P.O. Box 1492

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 481-4284

idwyer@sumter-sc.com

hastie

 

WARD 3

Calvin K. Hastie, Sr.

810 South Main Street

Sumter, SC 29150

(803) 774-7776

chastie@sumter-sc.com

 Burns

 

WARD 4

Charlie Burns

422 W. Calhoun St

Sumter, SC 29150

(803) 773-8859

cburns@sumter-sc.com

galiano

 

WARD 5

Robert A. Galiano

608 Antlers Drive

Sumter, SC 29150

(803) 469-0005

bgaliano@sumter-sc.com

 

 

WARD 6

David Merchant

26 Paisley Park

Sumter, SC 29150

dmerchant@sumter-sc.com