City Council

 

(Front Row: Colleen Yates, Mayor Joe McElveen, Ione Dwyer, Back Row: Mayor Pro Tem Thomas Lowery, David Merchant, Calvin Hastie, Bob Galiano)

 

Sumter's City Council is composed of seven members and is governed under the Council-Manager form of government. Six council members are elected from six separate wards and the Mayor is elected at-large. Sumter has the distinction of being the first to adopt the Council-Manager form of government, on June 11, 1912.

 

The Council Chambers are located on the 4th floor located in the historic Sumter Opera House at 21 N. Main Street, Sumter. Regular City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday's of each month at 5:30 PM.

 

Click here to find more information on volunteering for Boards and Commissions.

 

For more information on City Council contact:

 

Linda Hammett

City Clerk

(803) 436-2578


Click here to view City Voting Wards Map(s)

 

For more information on the City Mayor, click here.


lowery

WARD 1

Thomas J. Lowery

Mayor Pro Tem

829 Legare Street

Sumter, SC 29150 

803-773-9298

tlowery@sumter-sc.com

dwyer

WARD 2

Ione J. Dwyer

P.O. Box 1492

Sumter, SC 29151

(803) 481-4284

idwyer@sumter-sc.com

hastie

WARD 3

Calvin K. Hastie, Sr.

810 South Main Street

Sumter, SC 29150

(803) 774-7776

chastie@sumter-sc.com

WARD 4

Colleen Yates

437 W. Hampton Ave.

Sumter, SC 29150

(803)773-3259

cyates@sumter-sc.com

galiano

WARD 5

Robert A. Galiano

608 Antlers Drive

Sumter, SC 29150

(803) 469-0005

bgaliano@sumter-sc.com

 

WARD 6

David Merchant

26 Paisley Park

Sumter, SC 29150

dmerchant@sumter-sc.com