City Council


(Front Row: Colleen Yates, Mayor Joe McElveen, Ione Dwyer, Back Row: Mayor Pro Tem Thomas Lowery, David Merchant, Calvin Hastie, Bob Galiano)


Sumter's City Council is composed of seven members and is governed under the Council-Manager form of government. Six council members are elected from six separate wards and the Mayor is elected at-large. Sumter has the distinction of being the first to adopt the Council-Manager form of government, on June 11, 1912.


The Council Chambers are located on the 4th floor located in the historic Sumter Opera House at 21 N. Main Street, Sumter. Regular City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday's of each month at 5:30 PM.


Click here to find more information on volunteering for Boards and Commissions.


For more information on City Council contact:


Linda Hammett

City Clerk

(803) 436-2578

Click here to meet the City Council and view City Voting Wards Map(s)