STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

1452 West Evans Street
Florence, South Carolina 29501

2/10/2016

To: All Retail Vendors

From: South Carolina Department of Revenue
Re: Sumter County Iris Festival

The South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR) divides festivals and events into two categories. This
particular event (Iris Festival) is defined as a Retail Event. A Retail Event is a promotional show, trade show, fair,
festival, or carnival for which an admissions fee IS NOT required for entering the event.

If you are operating at a Retail Event, you WILL BE REQUIRED to register for a retail license to collect and
remit the South Carolina sales tax. Operating without a valid South Carolina license could result in fines up to $500
for each occurrence.

If you are an organization devoted exclusively to public or charitable purposes then you may be exempt from the
retail license and sales tax requirements. You MUST contact one of the Revenue Officers listed below to discuss
your situation.

What you should do:

* Complete form SCDOR-111 Tax Registration Application enclosed with this letter for your retail license.

= Pay the $50 license fee with your application. Please note that if your business ownership type is a Corporation
or LLC you must register with the South Carolina Secretary of State before we can process your application. You
may contact them at 803-734-21358.

* Submit your application to the address and Revenue Officers listed below.

SC Department of Revenue

Attn: Erin Lynch or Diane Spivey
1452 West Evans St., Suite 100
Florence, SC 29501

= Contact Revenue Officers Erin Brewer Lynch (843-519-1423) or Diane Spivey (843-519-1407) if you have
any questions,

* Contact one of the Revenue Officers noted above if you are a public or charitable organization.

* Ifyou already have a valid SC Retail License, please provide the d/b/a and license number and send it to the
Revenue Officers named above.

D/B/A

SC Retail License Number
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f LICENSE TAX

Section A: Taxes to be Registered for This Business Location -

[ Retail Sales/Accommodations Lic
[ Artist & Craftsman's License - Sel
shows, crafts shows and festivals

ense (Section B - $50 license tax is required)
Is created or assembled products only at arts
within SC (Section B - $20 license tax is required)

Make Checks Payable to SCDOR =~

L] Use Tax (Section B - No fee required)
[ ] Withholding Tax {Section C)

[ Nonresident Withholding Exemption {Section D)

1. Owner, Partnership, or Corporate Charter Name 2. FEIN

SSN

4. Type of Ownership
[ 1 Sole Proprietor {one cwner)

3. Mailing Address (for all correspondence)

in Care Of | Partnership {two or more owners, other than LLP)
| LLC/LLP filing as:
Street [ Corporation [] Partnership [] Single Member
oy i ya [JSouth Carolina Corporation

Date Incorporated
I Foreign Corporation
State and Date Incorporated
L1 Other (explain)

5. Business Phone Number 6. Daytime Phone Number

7. Email Address 8. Fax Number

8. Physical Location of B

usiness (No P.O. Box)
Required For All Tax T

ypes 10. Is Physical Location within Municipal Limits?

[LIYes [T No
Which municipality? (i.e. city/town)
Are you an S.C. Resident? [JYes [INo

Street

City County (Required) State i

How long have you lived in 5.C? — YR _____MO

Section B: Retail Sales/Accommodations/Artist & Craftsm
In and out-of-state sellers. A retail license will not be issued to

11. Purchaser’s Certificate of Registration for Use Tax:

an License/Use Tax
a person with any outstanding s

Effective Date of Registration

tate tax liability.

mm/dd/yy

12. Is Your Business Seasonal? [J Yes If yes, list months active:

[INo If no, filing status is monthi
You must file a zero return for active periods with no sales.

Yy . See instructions for more information.

13. How Many Retail Sales Locations Do You Operate in $.C. under Your Ownership?

14. Trade Name (Doing Business As) 15. Location of Records {No P.O. Box)

16. Main Business {i.e., Batall Sales, Manufacturing, Service, ete.} 7. Anticipated Date of First Botall Sales

mm/ddiyy

18. Type of Business
r jég{%g:zsiiégf%, Forestry,

| Max Tax (Vehicles) (44)
Fishing, & Hunting [11)

: [ Professional, Scientific,
Retall Trade (44-45

[ Heslth Care & Socia
& Technical Services (54} i

ssistance (62)

7

ng (21} Artists & Craftema {45} [Management of Companies ts, Entertainment, &
ities {22 Transportation & ises(55) i i)
Construction {23} Narehouse (48-49) unistrative & Support, [JAccommodation & Food
anufacturing (31-33; formation (51) Management & Services (72)
holesale Trade (423 nance & Insurance (52 Remediation Services (56) [JOther Services (81)
iDurable Medical [JReal Estate, Renial & [ JEducation Services 81} [JPublic Administration (92)

- Equipment (44) Leasing (53)
19. Check If You Seil These Products
[ Motor Gil [ Tires [l Lead Acid Batieries [ Large Appliances

(] Prepaid Wirsless Cards [ Service to Cellular and Personal Communications Users

[JAviation Gasoline/Jet Euel

Complste Page 2 of Thiz Form to Apply for Withholding Tax



I

Section C: Withholding Ta -

Every employer having employees earning wages in SC must register for withholding. Other types of payments also A
require state tax withholding. See instructions for more information.

20. Check the box that applies to your business:

[

7 02 Resident business: Principal place of business is inside South Carolina.
1 05 Nonresident Business: Principal place of business is outside of South Carolina.

21. Filing Frequency:
O Quarterly: Returns must be filed every quarter.
1 01 Annual: All employees are household employees, farmers, fishermen or ministers. Returns are filed at the
end of each calendar year.

22. Anticipated Date of First Payroll (mm/ddlyyyy):

This date will be used as the open date of your withholding account, and returns must be filed beginning with this
date regardless of activity.

 Section D: Nonresident Withholding { -
Check the appropriate block to administratively register with the Department and claim exemption from nonresident withholding
required by SC Code Sections 12-8-540 (rents and royalties), 12-8-550 {temporarily doing business or performing services in SC},
or 12-8-570 (trust or estate beneficiaries). The exempt person agrees to be subject to the jurisdiction of the Department and the
SC courts to determine SC tax liability, including withholding, estimated taxes, and interest and penalties, if any. Registering is not
an admission of tax liability, and, does not, by itself, require the filing of a tax return.

See instructions for further information. Main Business:

0 1agree to file SC tax return 3 fam not subject to SC Tax Jurisdiction {(no NEXUS)

| Section E: Name(s) of Business Owner, General Partners, Officers, or Members

Social Security Number Name/Title/General Partners Home Address % Ownership

Social Security Privacy Act

it is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state fo use an
individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-1 mandates that any
person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prascribed, for sscuring
proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

Upon completion of both pages, sign and date the application below.

| certify that all information on this application, including any attachments, is true and correct to the best of my knowledys.

SIGNATURE OF OWNER, ALL PARTNERS, OR CORPORATE OFFICER TITLE DATE

MAIL TO: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
REGISTRATION UNIT
COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 28214-0140
If you have questions about this form, please call (803) 896-1350.

E 40482031 5




Who qualifies for an Artists And Craftsmen license?
Three conditions must be met to be able to purchase this $20 license instead of the $50 retail license. Both
licenses require sales tax to be charged, collected, and paid through a sales tax return on a monthly, quarterly, or
annual return. The filing frequency is determined by the tax amount that is generally due.

1. The person making the retail sales must be an artist or craftsman.

2. The products for sale must have been created or assembled by the artist or craftsman selling them.

3. Such products must be sold at arts/crafts shows, or at festivals.
If these three conditions are not met, then the $50 retail license is needed. Again, the retail license allows for
items to be sold in any type of setting in South Carolina, such as shops, stores, flea markets, etc. The retail license
also allows the license holder to sell items that they did not create or assemble themselves, and allows for
materials to be purchased tax-free so that the tax is only charged on a particular item when it is sold to the end
user.

Pertinent South Carolina Law Code

SECTION 12-36-510. Retail license requirements; license tax; "special events".

(A) Before engaging in business:

(1) Every retailer shall obtain a retail license for each permanent branch, establishment, or agency and pay a
license tax of fifty dollars for each retail license at the time of application.

(2) Every artist and craftsman selling at arts and crafts shows and festivals, products they have created or
assembled, shall obtain a retail license and pay a license tax of twenty dollars at the time of application. This
license may be used only for one location at a time.

(3) Every retailer operating a transient or temporary business within this State shall obtain a retail license and pay
a license tax of fifty dollars at the time of application. This license may be used only for one location at a time. For
purposes of this item, "transient business” means a business, other than one licensed under item (2) of this
section, which does not have a permanent retail location in this State, but otherwise makes retail sales within this
State. "Temporary business" means a business which makes retail sales in this State for no more than thirty
consecutive days at one location.

{B) A retail license is not required of:

(1) persons selling at flea markets or conducting a yard sale not more than once a quarter, unless they make retail

sales at flea markets or yard sales as a regular business;

{2) organizations conducting concession sales at festivals if the gross proceeds of the sales are exempt from sales

tax pursuant to Section 12-36-2120(39};

(3} persons furnishing accommaodations to transients for one week or less in any calendar quarter; however,

accommodations taxes must be remitted annually, on forms prescribed by the department, by April 15 of the

following year. This item does not apply to rental agencies or persons having more than one rental unit;

{4} persons making sales which are exernpt under Section 12-36-2120{41}.

(C) Retailers making sales at a special event, in lieu of the licensing requirements of this section and discount
rovisions of Section 12-36-2610, shall file a special events sales tax return.

For purposes of this subsection, the special event sales tax return may be used only for one special event and must

be filed with the department together with the tax due within five days of the completion of the special event.

However, the department may require payment upon demand.

“Special event” means a promotional show, trade show, fair, festival, or carnival for which an admissions fee is

required for entering the event. In addition, the event must be operated for a period of less than twelve

consecutive days.
The provisions of this subsection do not apply to retallers licensed pursuant to subsection {A}2) or {3).

{0} The department mav determine which retail license or licenses a retailer must obtain.




